‘nong, Lugar Lang!

October 4, 2007

I woke up 7:30 this morning. I was so worried of being late and being deducted in my salary. My heart would burst. So, I zoomed to the bathroom and took a 15-minute shower. I even ended up eating a scoop of rice and sipping a drop of coffee. I was in a hurry that I never combed my hair. And yes, I looked like hell. I never thought of riding a taxi because the money left in my pocket was just a hundred-peso bill and that’s all I have ’til payday. So, I looked for a jeepney. Fortunately, a barker said that there’s one seat left. My heart jumped for joy that I clung myself immediately onto the running jeepney and latched my fingers to the rusty metal bars of the jeppney’s entrance. And yes, there was one seat. One seat for an ant. A seat where an air could not even pass. There was a space that not even a single atom could occupy. Though I’m thin, I know I would not fit in there. Since the jeepney already dashed out, I couldn’t get off. So, I ended up swinging and hanging on the jeepneys rusty door.

I could not forget the faces of the passengers looking at me. Most, if not all, of there eyes were on me. Some were staring at my beautifully dishivelled hair. Others were glancing at my face as sweat runs down from my temples. They were probably amazed when they saw my bones and oh, the triceps! If I have those, though. They were in awe when they saw those fragile bones hanging on the red-painted bars trying to get a grip. I felt like a small block of ice melting over the heat of the sun. I didn’t mind them. I resisted the heat of the sun as it shone on my skin. I could feel it burning my epidermis. I turned on my MP3 player and listened to music as my hands were shaking. The blast of the earphones almost tore my eardrums apart. I did not care. I swayed with the wind and with the music as the jeepney turned left and right. My hands and arms felt numb because of the stress and tension as they stretched like those of Lastikman’s as the jeepney moved so fast. Oh, how beautiful the wind was when it shove off the heat of the sun. And, how badly it was when it tried to take me away and almost fly me like paper. My knees were already trembling as it tried to stand strong to keep me from falling.

Then, my eyes sparkled when I heard a coin banging on the metal bars. The sound were like those from the jingle bells. At last, one got off the jeepney and it was my turn to sit like a king. I sat for at most a minute, yet it felt like eternal. My fingers, my hand, my arms, my legs, and my whole body had felt relief. I could still smell the iron in my hands like the ferrous sulfate tablet I loathed taking when I was a kid. But, I didn’t care much. “‘nong, lugar lang!”, I shouted.

I arrived in the office 20 minutes earlier and I promised to myself never to experience such misfortune again.

Lesson: Don’t throw your alarm clock when it starts ringing!

4 Responses to “‘nong, Lugar Lang!”

  1. Santadelic said

    can you imagine what could have happened if you where 60? You would be close to heart failure! Seems like your boss is a monster…

  2. nickname said

    If I were 60, I would have slept in my bed all day without thinking of waking up again. And oh, my boss is not a monster. She’s more of a goddess. Haha! 😀

  3. chin said

    Let’s call it even. You arrived 20 minutes early. I missed being late by a hairbreadth – three minutes to be exact – because I spent the morning reading your blog.

    Vet, of course, would faint at being called goddess. She would opt for monster, methinks. Hahaha.
    Happy birthday, young’un. At 20, you’ve the whole world at your feet. Live, maybe not always wisely, but well. Live with color and pizazz. Live in color.

  4. nickname said

    Okay. So, how would I call vet then? “Someone who always takes a photo of her feet whenever she treads on places other than her hometown?” (Sorry, I forgot your line. I couldn’t find the article :D) I would have to agree with you when I saw her feet posted in her friendster account. haha 😀

Leave a Reply

