Are You Heart-Broken?

July 18, 2008

They said I just had my heart broken. Really? Well, Wikipedia defines a broken heart (or heartbreak) as a common metaphor used to describe the intense emotional pain one feels after losing a loved one, through death, divorce, or other means as in breaking up with someone or having your partner move away. (I was actually surprised Wiki has this.) Seriously, my heart’s perfectly fine. It’s still beating and it’s still whole. Well, how can you tell if someone’s having some aortic tears?

Here are the symptoms if someone has a broken heart (blah..blah..).

1. A perceived tightness of the chest, similar to an anxiety attack.Nah! Slight. Maybe, this isn’t a broken heart after all. Maybe, this is myocardial infarction or myocardial ischemia. Hmmm.

2. Stomach ache and/or loss of appetite. Don’t I eat much as I usually do? A plateful rice. Maybe, I’m losing my appetite. What do you think?

3. Partial or complete insomnia. I have had insomnia since high school. So, this wouldn’t count. I actually wake up at 3 or 4 in the morning. And couldn’t sleep again. That’s just annoying.

4. Anger. Have I been angry lately? I think not. Everyone can always see some smiles surfacing on my face. And I had never raised my voice.

5. Shock. I am not shocked. Not in a state of comatose. Never. Nay. Not at all.

5. Nostalgia. Oh, how creepy. I don’t have a problem dealing with the past. But that doesn’t mean I’m nostalgic. Who doesn’t want to recall some happy thoughts, anyway?

6. Apathy (loss of interest). No, I’m very much interested with everything. Blah-blah!

7. Feelings of loneliness, hopelessness, and despair. I am feeling nothing but happiness. I am very happy and shiny!

8. Medical or psychological illness (e.g. depression).Am I depressed? No. A big NO! Maybe I’m having psychological illness but not depressed. :lol:

9. Suicidal thoughts (in extreme cases). Oh well, I haven’t thought of hanging myself on a shower rod, yet. And I haven’t thought of jumping off from our office floor.

10. Nausea.Did I say I feel like puking? Hmm, I’m faking it. Haha!

11. Fatigue. I ain’t tired. I am so enthusiastic and zealous. Whatever! Really, I don’t feel like sleeping all the time.

12. The thousand-yard stare. That definitely isn’t possible. I don’t have a powerful vision to see through walls.

13. Constant or Frequent crying. I don’t cry. Ask my friends.

14. A feeling of complete emptiness. My stomach’s empty. I’m hungry for sure.

15. Feelings of being sad. I already told you, I’m very much fine.

16. Denial. Maybe, I am [in denial] after all.

And I am seriously not talking.

6 Responses to “Are You Heart-Broken?”

  1. Samantha said

    Nice one. A very well-written post on methods to attack anxiety.Here is a very good wesbite that has plenty of guides regarding simple methods toattack anxiety. Thought I might share it with you. It’s at http://www.attackanxiety.org.

  2. beero said

    13. Constant or Frequent crying. I don’t cry. Ask my friends.

    come on, man. everyone does. i would never believe that you didn’t cry in your entire 20-year-old life. maybe you just don’t shed tears in front of them. you do the thing when you’re alone. tsk, tsk. that’s denial, actually! hakhak

  3. nickname™: ahahah! bahala ka kung ayaw mong maniwala. hindi ako umiiyak uy. im not a crybaby, man. :lol:

  4. filteany said

    The Thousand Yard Stare =D

    I do this not when I m heart broken but when I drift away from a boring conversation or contemplating on my writer’s block.

    good post.

    nickname™: thanks. :D

  5. 12. The thousand-yard stare. That definitely isn’t possible. I don’t have a powerful vision to see through walls.

    ahhahha! di man gani ka kakita ug duol, unsa na kaha kung thousand-yard!! harhar!

  6. hisnameisdencios said

    2. Stomach ache and/or loss of appetite. Don’t I eat much as I usually do? A plateful rice. Maybe, I’m losing my appetite. What do you think?

    –lahat naranasan ko, eto lang ang hindi. health buff kasi ako.
    (paekstra ulit =D)
    tnx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

